DISCLOSURE: This post may contain affiliate links, meaning when you click the links and make a purchase, we receive a commission.

Wellcome Trust Collaborative Awards in Science for Internationals Students in UK, 2017

Wellcome Trust Collaborative Awards are offered to determined researchers from the UK, Republic of Ireland and developing countries. These awards are provided for pursuing research in the field of Science in the UK.

The aim of the awards is to support young scientist to explore great ideas, at every step of the way from discovery to impact.

Wellcome Trust is a global charitable foundation, both politically and financially independent. Wellcome Trust support scientists and researchers, take on big problems, fuel imaginations, and spark debate. Wellcome Trust funding supports over 14,000 people in more than 70 countries. Wellcome Trust wants to improve health for everyone by helping great ideas to thrive.

Course Level: These awards are available to pursue research.

Study Subject: These awards are available in the fields of Science.

Scholarship Award: These awards will cover the followings:

  • A Collaborative Award can be up to £4 million and last for up to five years, but requests must be appropriate to the proposed research. Our support includes:
  • Research expenses directly related to your proposal
  • Applicants can also apply for public engagement funds to involve the public in your research and inspire learning.

Numbers of Scholarships: Not known

Scholarship can be taken in the UK

Eligibility: Applicants must meet the following area for the scholarship:

  • Collaborative Awards are for teams of researchers bringing together the relevant expertise and experience to address the most important scientific problems.
  • Proven research expertise and experience in their field.
  • An academic or research post (or equivalent).
  • A salary for the duration of the award period. If this is not in place, your employing organisation must provide a guarantee of salary support for the duration of the award.
  • Members of the team must have proven experience in collaborative research and consist of independent research groups.
  • Team size will depend on the proposed research, but should generally have more than two applicants, and no more than seven. Teams may be based in the same or in different organizations, and must bring different expertise or disciplines to the research question.
  • Applicants should usually be based on eligible organisations in the UK, Republic of Ireland, or low- or middle-income countries. However, we can make exceptions for projects that need specific expertise or resources provided by team members based in other countries.

Nationality: Applicants of UK, Republic of Ireland, Armenia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Bolivia, Cameroon, Egypt, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Congo, Rep, Côte d’Ivoire, Djibouti, El Salvador, Ghana, Guatemala, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Kenya, Kiribati, Kosovo, Kyrgyz Republic, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Mauritania, Micronesia, Fed. Sts, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Pakistan , Papua New Guinea , Philippines, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Sudan,  Syrian Arab Republic, Tajikistan, Tonga, Tunisia, Ukraine, Vanuatu, Vietnam, West Bank and Gaza, Yemen, Rep. Zambia, Uzbekistan and Timor-Leste can apply for these awards.

College Admission Requirement

Entrance Requirement: Applicants must have an academic or research post (or equivalent).

English Language Requirement: Applicants must meet the necessary language proficiency requirements of the host institution.

How to Apply: Applicants can apply through online mode.

  • Applicants should discuss the scope of your proposal and suitability for the scheme with us before you submit your full application. Please contact the relevant member of Science division.

Online Application

Application Deadline: The preliminary application deadline is April 20, 2017, and full application deadline is July 13, 2017

Scholarship Link

Leave a Reply
You May Also Like