Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships, at UK Universities 2018


Last updated on March 15th, 2018 at 09:40 pm

Applications are currently been accepted for the  Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships, at UK Universities 2018, eligible persons are by this notice charged to hurry and apply for this program as soon as possible

About Scholarship: 

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships provide the opportunity for individuals to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in their home country. The scheme was established in 2002, as a direct response to the measures taken by its funder, the UK Department for International Development (DFID), to explore new methods of delivery as part of the drive for poverty reduction. To date, nearly 1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded.


Masters Distance learning Scholarship

To be taken at:

UK Universities

Fields and institutions of Study

  • Cardiff University
    • MSc Palliative Medicine and Care  (available to citizens of Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka only)
  • Bangor University
    • MSc Tropical Forestry
  • Open University
    • MSc Environmental Management (available to citizens of Kenya only)
    • MA Online and Distance Education
  • Queen Mary, University of London
    • MSc Burn Care
    • MSc Endocrinology and Diabetes
    • MSc Gastroenterology
    • MSc Orthopaedic Trauma Science
    • MSc Trauma Sciences
  • Royal Veterinary College
    • MSc Veterinary Epidemiology and Public Health (available to citizens of Sri Lanka only)
  • SOAS, University of London
    • MSc Public Financial Management (available to citizens of Malawi and Tanzania only)
  • UCL Institute of Education
    • MA Education and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
    • MA Education, Gender and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
    • MA Education, Health Promotion and International Development (available to citizens of Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, and Uganda only)
  • University of Birmingham
    • MSc International Development (Conflict, Security and Development)
  • University of Edinburgh
    • MSc Biodiversity, Wildlife and Ecosystem Health
    • MSc Clinical Education
    • MVetSci Conservation Medicine
    • MSc Family Medicine
    • MSc Global Challenges
    • MSc Global eHealth
    • MSc Global Health and Infectious Disease
    • MSc International Animal Health
    • MSc One Health
    • MSc Paediatric Emergency Medicine
    • MPH Public Health
  • University of Leicester
    • MSc Risk, Crisis and Disaster Management
  • University of Liverpool
    • MPH Public Health
  • University of Oxford
    • MSt International Human Rights Law
  • University of Southampton
    • MSc Global Ageing and Policy
    • MSc Gerontology
  • University of Stirling
    • MSc Dementia Studies (available to applicants from Bangladesh, India, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka only)
  • University of Strathclyde
    • MSc Finance (available to applicants from Kenya, Malawi, and Tanzania only)
    • MSc Hydrogeology (available to applicants from Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe only)
  • University of St Andrews
    • MSc in Sustainable Aquaculture
  • University of York
    • MA Public Policy and Management



Selection Criteria and Eligibility: 

To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

Eligible African Countries

Botswana, Cameroon, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Other Countries

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados Belize, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji*, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Malaysia, Maldives, Montserrat, Nauru, Pakistan, , Pitcairn, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Vanuatu,


How to Apply

Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.

The CSC expects all candidates being considered for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS). Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.


Application Deadline: we invite applicants to keep checking for this site for most recent updates in this regard

Scholarship Webpage

Scholarship Provider: UK Department for International Development (DFID) Protection Status



Enter your email address:

Powered by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.