TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries Scientists, 2018


Last updated on February 21st, 2018 at 12:45 pm

Entries are currently been submitted for the TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries Scientists, 2018, eligible person are by this notice invited to hurry and apply


The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) is awarding eight prizes of USD 15,000 each to individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years. Each prize is accompanied by a medal. Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged. Selection of the awardees is made on scientific merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members. Full details:


Prizes are available to individual scientists.


Prizes are given in the following fields of science: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences and physics.

School(Institutions/ Country): |

Developing Countries


Deadline : 

1 June 2018

Funded By: The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)

Beneficiaries(Target Groups): TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries Scientists are targeted for Applicants of developing countries (Bangladesh, Bolivia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala, Iran, Isl. Rep., Jordan, Kyrgyzstan,

Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Panama, Peru, Philippines, Sri Lanka, Syria, Thailand
Trinidad and Tobago
Benefits(Value/ Inclusions):

Award No: Eight TWAS prizes will be awarded.

Scholarship Duration:  Not Known

Scholarship covers: Each year the Academy awards eight TWAS prizes of USD15, 000 each. Each prize is accompanied by a medal.




‣ Candidates for TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries Scientists must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:

  • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
  • Outstanding contribution to the application of Science and Technology to industry or to human well-being in a developing country.
  • Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Prizes.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.



  • TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.
  • Nominations must be made on the nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded.
  • The nominee’s CV and her/his complete list of publications are also required.
  • Nominations of women scientists and scientists from scientifically lagging countries are particularly encouraged.
  • The re-nomination of a previously declined candidate shall be accepted only if it bears substantially new elements for judgment.


‣ The names of the winners will be announced on the first day of the TWAS 26th General Meeting.

Scholarship Application Method

‣ How to nominate a scientist


  • The organizations intending to award TWAS prizes for young scientists in their respective countries will be requested to sign an agreement of collaboration with TWAS outlining the rules and regulations governing the scheme.
  • Candidates eligibile for the prizes should be no older than forty years of age at the time of winning the prize; hold at least a Master’s degree; have a good record of research publications in internationally recognized journals; be living and working in the country of the awarding organization.
  • Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.
  • A committee of eminent scientists in the country — including TWAS members, where applicable — should be formed for selecting the prize winners. Names of committee members should be sent to TWAS for information.
  • The awarding organizations should send a complete profile of the selected nominees to TWAS, providing details on their achievements together with curriculum vitae and list of publications. Approval of TWAS is required before announcing the names of the winners.
  • The prize should be presented to the awardees by a high-ranking public figure (e.g., head of state/government, minister of science and technology) at a special ceremony.
  • The prize money will be provided by TWAS to the awarding organization in the form of a cheque made out in the name of the awardees.

‣ Scholarship Applications are due on  1 June 2017.


Inquiries and completed nomination forms should be addressed to:

TWAS Prizes for Young Scientists
ICTP Campus
Strada Costiera 11
34151 Trieste
ItalyPhone: +39 040 2240 427

Contact email:

‣ Application forms and guidelines can be download from the official website

‣ It is important to read the application procedure, and visit the official websites (link found below) for detailed information on how to apply for this scholarship.

For more Information about  TWAS Prizes for Developing Countries Scientists Protection Status



Enter your email address:

Powered by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.