TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation Awards for Scientists from Least-Developed Countries 2017


Applications are currently been accepted or the TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation Awards for Scientists from Least-Developed Countries 2017. This program seeks to recognize  scientists from Least Developed Countries (LDCs). A cash award of USD4,000 will be given to whomever emerges as  successful  in this contest/award . The prize will honour scientists working in an area relevant to sustainability

Application Deadline: 10th July 2017

Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo Dem. Rep., Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Haiti, Kiribati, Lao PDR, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Myanmar, Nepal, Niger, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tuvalu, Uganda, Tanzania, Vanuatu, Yemen, Zambia.

Field of Award: Innovation for Sustainability: Conservation and management of natural resources

About the Award: Our planet, and therefore our existence, faces several challenges: world population, food security, climate change, biodiversity loss, water scarcity/poor sanitation, energy resources. Sustainability involves considering the relationship between the finite resources of the planet and the way of life adopted by humans: in what way can our existence be maintained and at what level?

Sustainability is at the forefront of many discussions at the international scene. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals released by the UN in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda underlie that we must become aware of the fact that we are compromising the future of generations to come. The SDGs may well represent the best attempt at addressing sustainability issues at a global scale.

The “Innovation for Sustainability” Prize will reward scientists for their contribution in an area, albeit multidisciplinary, directly relevant to the science of sustainability.

The 2017 prize will be awarded to a female scientist based on scientific achievements in conservation and management of natural resources rather than environmental advocacy

Type: Contest/Award

Eligibility: The female scientist being nominated must be a national of one of the following Least Developed Countries (LDCs) above, and must have lived and worked there during the two years immediately prior to her nomination

Number of Awards: 1

Value of Award: USD4,000

How to Apply: Interested nominators/candidates are to complete the Application Form electronically (See in Program Webpage Link below), save it in the format SURNAME_Initial.doc (e.g. SMITH_D.doc if the candidate’s name is David SMITH), and send it by 10 July 2017 to:

Three documents must be attached to the e-mail message:

  1. This nomination form;
  2. The candidate’s curriculum vitae, including a full list of publications
  3. A supporting statement by the nominator

Ask the nominee to send by email the following authorization to

Visit the Program Webpage for Details

Award Providers: Samira Omar Protection Status



Enter your email address:

Powered by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.