Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Culture Of Health Prize 2018


Applications are currently ongoing for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Culture Of Health Prize 2018. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Culture of Health Prize (the Prize) recognizes communities that have placed a priority on health and are creating powerful partnerships and deep commitments that will enable everyone, especially those facing the greatest barriers to good health, the opportunity to live well. A Culture of Health recognizes that health and well-being are greatly influenced by where we live, learn, work, and play; the safety of our surroundings; and the relationships we have in our families and communities. The Prize elevates the compelling stories of local leaders and community members who together are transforming neighborhoods, schools, businesses, and more—so that better health flourishes everywhere.


The RWJF Culture of Health Prize honors U.S. communities; submissions representing the work of a single organization will not be considered. With the exception of previous Prize winners and 2017 finalists, all past applicants are eligible to reapply in 2018 (2017 finalists may reapply in 2019).


In this sixth round of the annual Prize competition, up to 10 winning communities will:

  • Receive a $25,000 cash prize;
  • Have their stories and successes celebrated broadly to inspire others toward locally-driven change;
  • Engage with other national and community leaders as ambassadors for building a Culture of Health; and,
  • Join a Prize Alumni Network to learn with other Prize winners and network locally, regionally, and nationally.


Through the RWJF Culture of Health Prize application process, a community comes together to tell their inspiring stories of collaboration, action, and results. Communities should understand they are applying for a prize and not a grant. The Prize recognizes work that has already been accomplished so there is no required workplan or budget. To be competitive, it is imperative that Prize applicants keep a community-wide focus in mind through all phases of the competition.


Here are the major milestones from initial application through winners’ celebration event:

Phase I
November 3, 2017 (3 p.m. ET) 

Phase I Applications (for all applicant communities) due.

Phase II
December 8, 2017 

Invitations extended to select applicant communities to submit Phase II Applications.

January 18, 2018 (3 p.m. ET) 
Phase II Applications (for invited communities) due.

Site Visit Phase
March 2, 2018

Invitations extended to finalist communities to participate in a site visit.

April 3–June 15, 2018
Site visits with finalist communities.

Recognition Phase
Fall 2018 

National announcement of winners and celebration and learning event.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Prize 2018 Protection Status



Enter your email address:

Powered by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.