AU Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards 2017 for African Scientists.


The African Union Commission in conjunction with the European Commission, is inviting applications for AU Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards 2017.

Check This;

The programme is implemented at national level for young researchers, regional level for women scientists and continental level open to all scientists. The Continental level is the highest and level of the programme. The objective is to give out scientific awards to top African scientists for their scientific achievements and valuable discoveries and findings.

In July 2010, the African Union Heads of State and Government took a decision to rename this Programme as “African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards”. This decision reflects and underscores a success story and the critical role of science and technology in the development and integration of Africa. It also offers us the opportunity to constantly honour the memory of the Great Pan-Africanist and First President of the Republic of Ghana, Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.

A firm believer in African liberation and unity! A man who pursued a revolutionary pan-African policy, with a strong vision extending beyond national boundaries, for the creation of a new Africa, “a federal union of African states”, to take charge of its own destiny. He is among the key founding fathers of the then Organization of African Unity in 1963, an important pan-Africanist organization, which later become the African Union in 2002. Today the “dream and determination” of Dr. Kwame Nkrumah inspires Africa in all facets of development.

Under this programme prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation at the national, regional and continental levels. The African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards Programme is implemented using the following rules of procedure.

The African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award 2017 shall be organized at three levels:
– National;
– Regional; and
– Continental

One award per each of the following scientific sector shall be given out at each level:
a) Life and Earth Sciences; and
b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation
NB: The sectors are defined in 2 above.

The awards to be covered under this scheme are:
(i) AU-TWAS National Young Scientists Award at the National Level;
(ii) African Union Regional Women Scientists Award at the AU Regional Level; and
(iii) Continental Scientific Award at the continental level.

Who is Qualified?

  • The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements, demonstrated by number of publications, number of research graduate students, applicability of the scientific work to Africa’s challenges, and its patentability.
  • Only nationals of the African Union (AU) Member States are eligible to participate in these Awards.
  • For the African Union Regional Scientific Award for Women, applicants should have intensively published at least ten (10) SCI publications.
  • For the Continental applicants should have at least twenty (20) SCI publications.

Here is the Deal;

How To Apply

The Application forms are available from:

  •  AU Commission official website,
  • Ministries in Charge of Science and Technology, National Academies and Research Councils in Member States, and
  • the Regional Economic Communities Headquarters

For any enquiries and or clarifications, please contact the secretariat of African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Award Programme.

For equal treatment answers to various questions will be posted on the AU Commission official website for this programme:v- E-mail:

Don’t miss out!!

Application Deadline: 31 October 2017

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the AFRICAN UNION KWAME NKRUMAH SCIENTIFIC AWARDS 2017 Protection Status



Enter your email address:

Powered by

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.