75 UNESCO/China Co-Sponsored Fellowship for Students from Developing Countries (Undergraduate/Postgraduate) 2017/2018



The government of People’s Republic of China is partnering with the UNESCO to offer 25 undergraduate and postgraduate fellowship for developing countries 2017/2018.

Offered annually? Yes

To be taken at (country): People’s Republic of China

Eligible Field of Study: Any applicant can choose one academic program and three institutions as their preferences from the Chinese HEIs designated by MOE. Fellowships are for advanced studies at Undergraduate and postgraduate levels.

About Scholarship: The Government of the People’s Republic of China has placed at the disposal of UNESCO for the academic year 2016-2017, under the co-sponsorship of UNESCO, seventy-five (75) fellowships for advanced studies at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. These fellowships are for the benefit of developing Member States in Africa, Asia–Pacific, Latin America, Europe and North America and Arab region.

The fellowships, tenable at a selected number of Chinese universities, are for a duration of one year. These fellowships, are in most cases to be conducted in English. In exceptional cases, candidates may be required to study Chinese language before taking up research/study in their fields of interest.

Type: Undergraduate and Postgraduate fellowship

Selection Criteria and Eligibility

  • Hold at least the equivalent of the Master’s Degree/above or the Bachelor’s Degree;
  • English proficiency is required;
  • Be not more than 45 years of age; and
  • Be in good health, both physically and mentally.

Number of Scholarships: 75 fellowships are offered

Value of Scholarship: The Program provides a full scholarship which covers tuition waiver, accommodation, stipend, and comprehensive medical insurance.

Duration of Scholarship: 1 year

Eligible Countries

Africa: 46 Member States: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Cote D’ivoire, Democratic Republic Of The Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome And Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Swaziland, Togo, Uganda, United Republic Of Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Asia And The Pacific: 28 Member States: Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Democratic People’ S Republic Of Korea, Fiji, India, Indonesia, Iran (Islamic Republic Of), Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Malaysia, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic Of Korea, Samoa, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam

Arab States: 2 Member States: Yemen, Palestine


How to Apply: All applications should be endorsed by the relevant Government body (the National Commission or Permanent Delegation) and must be made in English with the following attachments:

(i.) Application form for UNESCO/China (The Great Wall) Fellowship in triplicate;
(ii.) 3 photographs;
(iii.) Notarized photocopies of diplomas and certificates, and school-certified transcripts of complete academic records (translated in English when applicable), in triplicate;
(iv.) Copy of the university’s invitation letter, for those students who have been admitted in advance by a Chinese university, in triplicate;
(v.) Two letters of recommendation (in English) by professors or associate professors familiar with the work of the candidate, in triplicate;
(vi.) A study or research proposal containing no less than 400 words (in English) of the post-graduate study to be undertaken during the candidate’s stay in China, in triplicate;
(vii.) Foreigner Physical Examination form to be completed and communicated to UNESCO by 15 March 2013 (copy attached), in triplicate; and
(viii.) English language proficiency certificate, in triplicate.

Visit Scholarship Webpage for details

Sponsors: China Scholarship Council (CSC) and United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization.

Application Deadline: 20th April 2017


DMCA.com Protection Status
User Review
0 (0 votes)


Delivered by World Scholarship Forum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.