2018 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize


Applications are currently been invited for the 2018 UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize,eligible persons are by this notice invited to apply for this program.

This Prize was established by UNESCO’s Executive Board, in 1997, in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. Its purpose is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.

 Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

Type: Award/ prize

Eligible countries: International

Funded by: UNESCO


How to submit your nomination:

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2018 by post or by email to:

Ms Sylvie Coudray
Section for Freedom of Expression
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Communication and Information Sector
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris


E-mail: s.coudray@unesco.org (link sends e-mail)

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2018

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.