2018 Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa Media Awards


Nominations are now been accepted for the  2018 Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa Media Awards, all submissions are to be completed before the stated deadline.

The objective of the Awards is to promote reporting of COMESA regional integration projects hence raising public awareness, understanding and participation and ownership. Relevant topics for entry include: development projects involving more than one COMESA member State or a national project which have a regional dimension. Such projects cover trade, infrastructure (energy, transport, ICT), investments, gender etc. If an article is not about a COMESA programme, at least it should mention a similar or related COMESA programme to demonstrate that the author is aware about such COMESA programmes.

Type: Contest

Field: Media/Journalism

Value of Award:  The winners will get sponsorship to the COMESA Heads of State Summit, Summit, a monetary award, a trophy and a certificate.

Eligible Countries: Eastern and Southern African countries


  • The awards are open for published and broadcasted works in the fields of print, radio, television, and online media.
  • Only journalists who are COMESA nationals are eligible for the competition.
  • The competition is open to individual journalists and not media institutions or organisations;
  • Entries submitted are those published or broadcasted between 1st January 2017 and 31 December 2017

How to Apply:  Entry forms are available on the COMESA website here

Application Deadline: 31st January 2018.

Visit the Program Webpage for Details


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.