2018 ACME National Journalism Awards for Ugandan Journalists



Applications are currently been accepted for the  2018 ACME National Journalism Awards for Ugandan Journalists, all applications ate to be submitted before the stated deadline.

The Uganda National Journalism Awards are presented annually to recognise and promote reporting that informs and empowers the public, increases the voices and spaces for important information, and holds the powerful to account. Launched four years ago, the awards represent a pinnacle of achievement for Ugandan journalists, many of whom work tirelessly to attain journalistic excellence, often in the face of enormous financial and political pressure.

Type: Contest/Awards

Eligible Fields: The Uganda National Journalism Awards 2018 will be given to the best reporting in 20 categories, namely:

Agriculture reporting, Arts journalism, Breaking news reporting, Business, economics and financial reporting, Data journalism, Education reporting, Energy, oil, gas and mineral resources, Environment reporting, Explanatory reporting, Feature writing, Health reporting, Investigative reporting, Justice, law and order reporting, Local reporting, National news reporting, News illustration, Photo and video journalism, Political reporting, Sports reporting.

Value of Award: Both the winner and first runner-up in each category will receive a substantial cash prize. Plaques and certificates will also be given. A separate prize for exceptional journalism shall also be awarded to a participant in UNJA who exhibits extensive knowledge of his or her reporting beat, provides evidence of growth over the period of assessment, consistently produces quality work, and is highly regarded by others in the profession. Winners will be celebrated at a grand gala to be held in Kampala in May 2018. Additionally, winning entries will be published online and in a booklet to be distributed by ACME.

Eligible Countries: Uganda

To be taken at (country): Uganda

 Eligibility: The 2018 awards are open to all professional journalists working in print, television, radio and online news platforms in Uganda for stories published or broadcast between 1 January and 31 December 2017.

How to Apply: 

All submissions must have been published or broadcast in a Ugandan media outlet or a regional outlet with a substantial Ugandan audience during the 2017 calendar year. Web-based news organisations that follow a strict code of journalistic ethics and publish original reporting on a regular basis may also submit entries.

To submit an entry for the awards, visit the Entry Rules and Submission Guidelines page on the ACME website.

Application Timeline: 

  • Entries close: 31st January 2018
  • Judging process: 22nd January – 28th February 2018
  • Awards gala: April 2018

Visit Award Webpage for details


Delivered by World Scholarship Forum


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.