Africa scholarships Algeria Scholarships Angola Scholarships Burundi Scholarships Cambodia Scholarships Cape Verde Scholarships Central African Republic Scholarships Chad Scholarships Comoros Scholarships Democratic Republic of the Congo Scholarships Djibouti Scholarship Egyptian Scholarships Ethiopian Scholarships Gabon Scholarships Gambia Scholarships Ghana Scholarships Guinea Scholarships : Full List of Guinea Scholarships 2017-2018 Guinea-Bissau Scholarships : List of 2017-2018 Guinea-Bissau Scholarships INTERNATIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS Ivory Coast Scholarships : List of Ivory Coast Scholarships 2017-2018 Kenya Scholarships : List of Scholarships for Kenya Students 2017-2018 Lesotho scholarships Liberia Scholarships | List of Liberia Scholarships 2017-2018 Libya Scholarships Madagascar Scholarships Malawi Scholarship Mali Scholarships | 2017-2018 Mali Scholarships Updates Mauritania Scholarships | List of Scholarships in Mauritania 2017-2018 Morocco Scholarships Mozambique scholarships Nigerian Scholarships Opportunities For Undergraduates/Graduates Rwanda Scholarships Scholarships by Countries Scholarships By Deadline Somalia Scholarships South Africa Sholarships Sudan Scholarships Ugandan Scholarships Undergraduate Scholarships

OWSD Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in Developing Countries 2018


The Elsevier Foundation is calling for nominations of hardworking science-inclined women from Africa and other developing countries.


Eligible Countries: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo Dem. Rep., Congo Rep., Côte d’Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, São Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

To be taken at (country): Boston, USA

Eligible Field of Study: Physical Sciences: Chemistry, Maths and Physics

About the Award: Launched by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD, the Awards reward and encourage women working and living in developing countries in the early stages of their scientific careers. Awardees must have made a demonstrable impact on the research environment both at a regional and international level and have often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence.

The award has an important impact on local research cultures. Previous winners say the awards have had a powerful effect, enhancing the visibility of their past work and creating new opportunities for the future. The awardees are powerful role models for young women who are contemplating whether to remain in an environment that is often hostile to their needs and experience.

Nominations are invited from senior academics, including OWSD members, TWAS Fellows, ICTP visiting scientists and staff, national science academies, national research councils and heads of departments/universities both in developing and developed countries.

Offered Since: 2012

Type:  Science Research

Eligibility: The nominee must be a female scientist; have received her PhD within the previous 10 years; and have lived and worked in one of the following developing countries during the three years immediately prior to the nomination:

Selection Criteria: The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international scientists, including members of TWAS, OWSD and ICTP, and chaired by OWSD. The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid both to the nominees’ contribution to capacity-building in their region, as well as international impact. Winners will be informed of their selection in November 2015.

Number of Awardees: five Awards. One woman is awarded for each of five regions in the developing world: Latin America and the Caribbean; East and South-East Asia and the Pacific; the Arab region; Central and South Asia; and Sub-Saharan Africa (see the list of countries in Africa above)

Value of Award: Each winner receives a cash prize of USD 5,000 and an all-expenses-paid trip to attend the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) annual meeting in Boston in February 2017. Lasting 5 days, the event is packed with networking opportunities. The winners receive their award at a special networking ceremony, as well as invitations to mentoring and science communication workshops, a visit to a local laboratory, and a celebratory dinner organised by the Elsevier Foundation.

Duration of Award: Not stated

How to Apply:

Visit Awards Webpage for details

Award Provider: The Elsevier Foundation

Important Notes: Candidates should please note that self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations must be made on the nomination form and signed by the nominator; they must include the candidate’s curriculum vitae and full list of publications; and be accompanied by three reference letters.

Application Deadline: 1st September 2017



Enter your email address:

Powered by


Leave a Reply