NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature 2017 for Young Nigerian Writers


Entries are hereby invited for the NLNG Nigeria Prize for Literature for outstanding Nigerian writers.


About the Award: The yearly literary prize is sponsored by Nigeria LNG (NLNG) to honour the best book by a Nigerian author between the last 4 years. The prize rotates around four literary genres: Prose fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature.

Type: Contest


  • No book published before January 2013 will be accepted
  • An author will enter only one published work. More manuscripts will not be accepted
  • No book  previously submitted for this competition may be re-submitted at a later date even if major revisions have been made or a new edition has been published.
  • the prize will be rewarded for no other reason than excellence

Selection: Winners will be announced in October and will be presented to the public on a later date.

Number of Awardees: 4

Value of Contest:

How to Apply: 

  • Ten copies of the entries and if available, an e-copy together with evidence of Nigerian citizenship (photocopy of Nigerian passport or I.D card) may be submitted either by authors or publishers in accordance with the genres in competition.
  • Books should be submitted to Nigeria LNG’s External Relations Division, promoters of the prize, by the stipulated deadline.
  • Complete contact information, including full contact address, phone number(s), email(s), and other relevant contact information will accompany every submission.

Entries shall be sent to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Nigeria LNG Limited,
Intels Aba Road Estate,
Km 16 Port-Harcourt-Aba Expressway,
P.M.B 5660 Port-Harcourt Rivers state


The Nigeria Prize for Literature,
External Relations Division,
Heron House,
10 Dean Farrar Street,
London, SW1H 0DX

Visit Contest Webpage for details

Application Deadline: 7th April, 2017

Eligible Countries: Nigeria

To be taken at (country): Nigeria

Award Provider: NLNG

Leave a Reply